I wore jeans on Easter

“It is better to make a difference than a point.”
Andy Stanley

I WORE

I remember one Easter as a child, I had one ambition, to dress exactly like James Crockett from Miami Vice.  I was dressed in white khaki style pants, bright yellow t-shirt, turquoise single button blazer and penny filled penny loafers.  I was “gnarly”.  Easter Sunday required more than your Sunday best, but your next level Sunday best.

Yet this year on the most seemingly sacred Sunday of the church calendar I wore blue jeans. Fashionable, clean cut and dressed down blue jeans.

What I quickly realize if you read that statement you fall into one of three categories:

  • wholeheartedly agree
  • vehemently disagree
    or
  • simply don’t care

There may be a fourth category questioning what style of jean.  If they were extra skinny, boot cut, classic Levi or a dressy Michael Kors.  But even those may find themselves compartmentalized in one of the previous three.

I am broke and okay with it.  (READ HERE)

So why did I select my grey washed jeans over a three piece suit for Resurrection Sunday?

Simpy because of what Andy Stanley says:
“It is better to make a difference than a point.”

At one point the everyday dress of our culture was suit and tie.  Men wore well polished shoes.  Woman wore skirts and panty hose.  Not just to the workplace but in everyday situations. The work place culture has shifted.  Casual Friday has morphed into business casual with blue jean Friday.  More and more home based work has employees in blue plaid pajamas over Calvin Klein Glen Plaid.

In truth, I own only one suit.

A few years back I got to enjoy the Kentucky Derby from the palatial suites of Keeneland.  There were two rules: men had to wear coat and tie and never take off your coat and tie.  There was a status symbol attached to entering behind those doors. It was a level of persona not found in the grandstands or in grass.

If the Church is to be the vehicle of making Jesus known to the lost and broken, then continuing a status of a Country Club culture will only keep them out.  So I wore jeans because in part it is who I am and secondly to borrow the words of a classic hymn we want to create a “come as you are” culture.

In the same way, we need to not flip the script too far the other way.  Deep v-neck t’s don’t make us more relevant or closer to Jesus.  I am fairly certain the skinnier the jeans is not a status symbol of better the worship.

As those commissioned to carry out the message of hope and life, we cannot be the same ones that set up an obstacle course to the cross.  As culture ever changes, the church needs to find itself adaptable and pliable in how we deliver the message without ever compromising the message.  The message is never changing, the methods have to reach people have to be able to be changed.

So I wore jeans on Easter.

2 thoughts on “I wore jeans on Easter

Leave a Reply

