#ICYMI

What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?
Romans 8:31

ICYMI.png

I have a love/hate for social media.  Like tonight, I was able to see a picture of my 86 year old grandfather whom unfortunately I have not had the opportunity to visit in far too long.   Wrapped in hate is the demand to edit our life down to snippets and snapshots that tell the story, at least the pieces of the story we want told.

In truth, we really only tell what we want people to know.  We select, edit and share the best pieces of life.  We paint and present our greatest hits and leave all our hurts and hardships on the cutting room floor.

And there are seasons and situations of life that get left untold.  So here are pieces of the last year that have been left untold.   We often go back and share with “in case you missed it”.

So this is my ICYMI because most of you did miss it and mostly because I quit putting my life on display for the world to judge.  I quit snapping, sharing, tweeting and posting simply because my personal life was simply that personal.  It was a journey of hurt and joy.  It was a pathway of loss and recovery.  In the end, it was the redemption of life, ministry and love.

For more than a year, I walked in a life of complete paradox.  So much of life was crumbling all around me while my God was simultaneously taking the broken pieces and rebuilding the walls. Disaster seemed to be constant companion.  Interestingly enough it was partnered with blessing and restoration.

In the midst of my heartache, God gave more than I deserved.  Much of that came packaged in the beauty and love a long lost friend.  A friend that I had no idea would come to mean so much in my life.

By now, if we are friends on Facebook and those few in the inner circle of my life, you are aware that I am re-married.

Rachael is my reward.  She is my best-friend, my heart’s love and the person I trust with all the pieces of my life and heart. Her beauty is only surpassed by her passion for Jesus.  Wrapped in laughter is a friendship that blossomed into a love and a love that was sealed with a promise.

On June 23, 2017 that old friend became my wife and my partner in this life.

A blog post is not enough space to tell the story of all God did to get us here.  There are not words to fully unpack what it took and the best description may simply be that the Lord still works in mysterious ways.  And even better yet is that the Lord works and is still working all things for the good of those who love him.

God has a way of taking the broken pieces of our life and arranging them into beautiful mosaics.  Up close all we see are the broken pieces, but as we step back we begin to see how the hand of an artist arranged and selected each one precisely to craft a thing of beauty.

My life, my marriage to Rachael is simply that, a Mosiac masterfully arranged by the hand of God. If you look close you will still see broken chunks with jagged edges.  But as you step back what you will see is something beautiful that only God could have put together.

Just in case you missed it…

Leave a Reply

